Pro Photo HOME
Go Back   Pro Photo HOME > Professional Photography Discussion- Full Access for Premium Members > Wedding and Portrait

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2009, 03:18 PM
michaelnotar michaelnotar is offline
Premium Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CDA, Idaho, USA
Posts: 994
michaelnotar 10
Does this sound like a hoax...wedding contact

recieved this today from my website email me form.

Comments: Hello,
My name is Anderson Williams,i live in Idaho(USA).I am presently in
London(UK)but probably will be moving back home soon,and i'll be getting
married shortly after my arrival in the states to my fiance Misty
Daniel.We will need a wedding/party Photographer to help us in making up
our ceremony from the church to the hotel reception.We will like to find
out what your plans are for December 12th,2009.This is the date of our
wedding so kindly let us know your availability for this day.We'll take
responsibility for your expenses regarding our plans.we might not be able
to meet you soon as planned,due to our unavailability in the states but,we
are willing to retain the date, that's to make deposit for booking prior
We to our arrival to be sure we are interested in your service,if we
really are.Waiting to get your response.
Anderson Williams and Misty Daniel

  

__________________
Michael
www.shutterworksphoto.com

White Balance so easy, even our 5 year old can do it.- Melissa Strickland

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2009, 04:51 PM
Jerry Skrocki's Avatar
Jerry Skrocki Jerry Skrocki is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Amsterdam, New York
Posts: 724
Jerry Skrocki 10
Re: Does this sound like a hoax...wedding contact

It's a scam.

Drew Faber Photography Alert for Other Photographers

Is this a scam? Or not? Opinions please. - Photo.net Wedding and social event photography Forum
__________________
Gerald J Skrocki
Graphic Design & Photography
www.skrockidesign.com

White Balance so easy, even our 5 year old can do it.- Melissa Strickland

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2009, 04:56 PM
michaelnotar michaelnotar is offline
Premium Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CDA, Idaho, USA
Posts: 994
michaelnotar 10
Re: Does this sound like a hoax...wedding contact

i am approaching it very cautiously. i used my yahoo email to reply. i am familiar with that payment scheme and will stop there if that is mentioned. i would only accept paypal from international people anyways. i emailed them asking for specifics to call their bluff. the email did have some typos and was just a lil off in grammar which is a high alert.
__________________
Michael
www.shutterworksphoto.com

White Balance so easy, even our 5 year old can do it.- Melissa Strickland

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:13 PM
David_Buzzard's Avatar
David_Buzzard David_Buzzard is offline
Premium Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Whistler, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,769
David_Buzzard 10
Send a message via AIM to David_Buzzard
Re: Does this sound like a hoax...wedding contact

Is that ever a scam!

The two things that give it away. First, it doesn't use your name. If you were going to book a photographer, wouldn't you use their name in correspondence? Secondly, they're talking about a deposit before they've even booked a package. My experience is that's almost the last thing that gets discussed.

I know two wedding professionals who have been taken in by these scams. One was just out his bank fees and lost some money on the US exchange, as the Canadian dollar dropped about 20% while he was sorting out all the bank transfers. Another, though, was pretty much put out of business. You really need to be careful with these things.

David Buzzard

White Balance so easy, even our 5 year old can do it.- Melissa Strickland

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2009, 03:04 AM
Randy_Vestal Randy_Vestal is offline
Moderator- Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK/Raleigh, NC
Posts: 168
Randy_Vestal 10
Re: Does this sound like a hoax...wedding contact

It's definitely a scam...I get at least 1 a month via my site and I don't even do weddings! The broken English and not using your names are good give-a-ways.

It will be a variation of something like: I'll pay your fee in advance with bank check....but my (brother, cousin, uncle, good friend (just insert one) is arranging other things so your check will cover both. Please cash, keep your money and send the rest to.....) Of course the check is no good, but by the time you find that out, you've already paid brother, cousin, uncle or good friend.......

Be very careful and good luck

Edit:

Anderson Williams gets around
__________________
Randy
www.ultimatelightimages.com

White Balance so easy, even our 5 year old can do it.- Melissa Strickland


Last edited by Randy_Vestal; 10-06-2009 at 10:01 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 AM.


ColorRight





Professional Photo Resources Atlanta

Photo Barn


Geo Visitors Map

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0