Pro Photo HOME
Go Back   Pro Photo HOME > Professional Photography Discussion > Wedding and Portrait
Register Now for FREE!
Our records show you have not yet registered. Sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY. Free accounts provide basic access.

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:
Agree to receive admin email and abide by forum rules 

ColorRight

Reply
 
LinkBack (3) Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

Re: This is CLASSIC!
  #8  
Old 10-26-2007, 04:24 PM
Ken_Bennett Ken_Bennett is offline
Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: winston-salem, nc usa
Posts: 748
Referrals: 0
Ken_Bennett 10
Re: This is CLASSIC!

It'll be a scam. He'll "accidentally" send you a cashier's check for several thousand more than he owes you, and ask that you immediately send the difference to the florist, or the caterer, or whomever, because they have to have the money right away to hold the date. No waiting for the fake cashier's check to clear, which of course it won't, and you're out several thousands of dollars.

Delete delete delete.
What is White Balancing ?
Pro Review of White Balance.
Get your Color Right in 15 seconds
www.colorright.com




Support Pro Photo Home. Buy all your gear at the Pro Photo Store and B&H.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Re: This is CLASSIC!
  #9  
Old 11-01-2007, 08:12 PM
Noel_Carboni's Avatar
Noel_Carboni Noel_Carboni is online now
Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 4,980
Referrals: 1
Noel_Carboni 10
Re: This is CLASSIC!

What I want to know is why such a scam continues to work...

My God, can't the banking industry modernize enough to be able to check the validity of a check instantly?

Think for a moment about how ridiculous it is in this electronic age to have to wait days (or even weeks) for a check to clear. I can access my own account instantly through the net. Can't banks access other accounts? The people working in them truly must be as the Wamu commercials portray them.

-Noel
__________________
My eMail address: NCarboni@att.net
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Re: This is CLASSIC!
  #10  
Old 11-01-2007, 10:50 PM
DougAxford DougAxford is online now
Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 902
Referrals: 0
DougAxford
Re: This is CLASSIC!

Ask him how the weather is in Nigeria today.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Re: This is CLASSIC!
  #11  
Old 11-01-2007, 11:23 PM
Claude_Ferron's Avatar
Claude_Ferron Claude_Ferron is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Trois-Rivières, Québec, Canada!
Posts: 198
Referrals: 0
Claude_Ferron 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Claude_Ferron
Re: This is CLASSIC!

Interesting, to very different opinion. Superb experience or a scam? For having stayed in Whistler for 1 year, I must say that it is very possible that this could be an interesting contract in many aspect. I would probably find out with a good interview if it is a scam or not, well I think.

David, reading your post make me see you as a very technical person with a lot of experience. I could work as an assistant for you anytime and learn a lot I'm 100% certain so could you in some aspect I'm certain. I'd like to go back and see friend out there anytime.

Keep us... or me posted

Claude Ferron, Owner / Photographer
www.subitophototo.net
Viewing System Solution - From your camera to your customers eyes in seconds.
http://www.subitophoto.net/vss
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Re: This is CLASSIC!
  #12  
Old 11-16-2007, 01:52 PM
David_Buzzard's Avatar
David_Buzzard David_Buzzard is offline
Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Whistler, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,669
Referrals: 0
David_Buzzard 10
Send a message via AIM to David_Buzzard
Re: This is CLASSIC!

I got another one yesterday. They always seem to come at the end of a hard day

Hello management...............
I am Mr TERRY SCOTT I am planning to have a christain wedding on the 28th of March 2008 and i am looking a well befit wedding photographer that will come and snap shot the great day as i willing to hire your service in (509 Yonge St Suite #1Toronto Ontario M2N 5S3) as i need 450 copies of coloured picture with alburm,I am not presently in Canada now, I am on contract to Spain in a construction company.Let me know your details price of the copies and your transport fee to and fro to the wedding venue.Three month ago i meet my love.named VALENTINA HAGIN and she has a little boy.I want to let you know that i will be paying your bill with paypal so let me have your detail address information and your paypal account address, so i we like it to be in this format:
Full name...........
Full address........
State...............
Zip code............
Cell phone/Home phone...
Paypal account information.....
Update me with necessary information regarding the success of the wedding and let me know your interest on my wedding so that i will forward the payment into your account.
REGARDS
TERRY.



Claude: I promise you this is a scam. I get e-mails from international clients all the time, and they don't look anything like this. It's funny, but I do know a few people who have been burned by this scam. One person was just a few hundred bucks in bank fees and exchange rates (The US dollar dropped about 10% compared to the Canadian dollar while he was sorting it out, and he was on the hook for the difference in exchange), but another person basically had to shut down her business because of it.

If you're in town look me up. I winters are pretty slow for me, and I'm more about cramming as much skiing as I can in than I am in shooting weddings.

David Buzzard's Technical Blog
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Re: This is CLASSIC!
  #13  
Old 11-17-2007, 12:20 AM
Noel_Carboni's Avatar
Noel_Carboni Noel_Carboni is online now
Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 4,980
Referrals: 1
Noel_Carboni 10
Re: This is CLASSIC!

Heh heh, they didn't even fill in the blanks very well with this one. All caps?

"Paypal account information....."

I wonder how many folks return an account name, password, etc. All it would take would be one.

-Noel
__________________
My eMail address: NCarboni@att.net
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote

Re: This is CLASSIC!
  #14  
Old 12-02-2007, 10:19 AM
dkphoto1 dkphoto1 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11
Referrals: 0
dkphoto1 10
Re: This is CLASSIC!

I routinely get these. (3-4) month. They are scams, most from outside the US but now from people who say they are in another state. I went thru the whole bit and even got the certified cashiers check. I called the bank and confirmed my suspicion that the check was a forgery. I framed it. Now my reaction is, I only accept payment in cash or by western union money gram. Dead silence from the other end, but then again, one need some amusement on a dull afternoon.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Pro Photo Store and B&H

Visit the B&H Pro Photo Store for the best Gear Prices and regular specials!

Brilliant Color for any Digital SLR
White Balance Cap
The Pros Agree on ColorRight
What People Are Saying


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.prophotohome.com/forum/wedding-portrait/74707-classic.html
Posted By For Type Date
www.topweddingadvice.info » This is CLASSIC! This thread Pingback 10-26-2007 05:32 PM
www.bestdigitalphotography.info » This is CLASSIC! This thread Pingback 10-26-2007 04:56 PM
Pro Photo HOME This thread Refback 10-26-2007 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 AM.





ColorRight

Pro Photo Store

Professional Photo Resources Atlanta






Geo Visitors Map

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0