Pro Photo HOME
Go Back   Pro Photo HOME > Professional Digital Equipment Discussion > Storage Media, Readers and Photo Recovery
Register Now for FREE!
Our records show you have not yet registered. Sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY. Free accounts provide basic access.

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:
Agree to receive admin email and abide by forum rules 
ColorRight

Reply
 
LinkBack (2) Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  2 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1  
Old 03-26-2008, 12:51 PM
joedmiles's Avatar
joedmiles joedmiles is offline
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 205
joedmiles
Exclamation Fraud Alert when buying from www.DHGate.com website from jackie_chan!

Fraud alert warning for buying cheap 16 gig memory cards - all photographers beware!!!

I just wanted to warn all photographers from buying cards sold on the DHGate website (China Wholesale: Buy Wholesale Products from China) as I was sent today a memory card that was a blatant counterfeit and scam.
The seller that sold me the memory card was called jackie_chan so make sure you don't touch anything that he sells. The actual website maybe OK if buying from other sellers (it seems to be a bit like Ebay)

I bought a Sandisk 16 gig card from them ($110 including postage) thinking I'd got a good deal and found it was in fact a 'Transcend' 2 gig card with counterfeit labels on it that just peeled off at the touch. They packaged it in a nice posh Sandisk box and I got a free card holder (whooo!) and software for finding lost files (which I won't even try to put in my pc incasse it puts a virus on it!)

So...the moral of this story is don't buy cheap cards fullstop and also stay away from DHGate unless you want to lose hard earned money...or you can afford to lose it!
Attached Images
 
__________________
ImageCapture
Member of OLW

Last edited by joedmiles; 03-26-2008 at 12:57 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2008, 04:36 PM
DougAxford DougAxford is offline
Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 973
DougAxford
Re: Fraud Alert when buying from www.DHGate.com website from jackie_chan!

Sorry for your problem. I bought a Transcend months ago and it's been just fine. Of course, maybe the Transcend is fake too.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2008, 04:50 PM
joedmiles's Avatar
joedmiles joedmiles is offline
Basic Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 205
joedmiles
Re: Fraud Alert when buying from www.DHGate.com website from jackie_chan!

I wouldn't have minded if I'd have purchased a 2 gig Transcend Card but I bought a 16 gig Sandisk!
__________________
ImageCapture
Member of OLW
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2008, 08:21 PM
PB&J photography's Avatar
PB&J photography PB&J photography is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Columbia, SC
Posts: 89
PB&J photography 10
Send a message via Yahoo to PB&J photography
Re: Fraud Alert when buying from www.DHGate.com website from jackie_chan!

See, Sandisk makes Transend. And in China they can sell it under the parent company name. So, in a way, you're actually getting a Sandisk. Transend uses leftover parts from returned and damaged Sandisk to make their products. They're tested out and should work fine, but they are rebuilt/ recycled sandisk.











Yeah right! I have no idea what I'm talking about....totally made all that up. Sounded good though, eh?

There's a lot of caution on ebay about fraud Sandisk cards now, though. Newegg.com sells transend like way cheap. After having a problem with a CF card, which at the time was getting good reviews (Kingston), I am skeptial of stepping out of the Lexar/ Sandisk arena.

70 bucks gets you the 16GB transend at newegg.com. Newegg.com - Transcend 16GB Compact Flash (CF) Flash Card Model TS16GCF133 - Flash Memory

Not sure about the write speed on it. Didn't take time to browse around site and read everything.

Thanks again for the warning and making others aware! Too bad you can't press any charges as China has virtually no copyright laws or anything.

YOu have to think...business must be really hard there. You make a great product and with no warning someone can copy your idea, use even cheaper Chinese parts and sell it for less yet make more. I guess that's why everything's made so cheaply, they know they can't invest a lot because they'll have to find something new to manufacture next month.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2008, 09:42 PM
KevinStecyk KevinStecyk is offline
Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 709
KevinStecyk
Re: Fraud Alert when buying from www.DHGate.com website from jackie_chan!

You should use resellerratings.com to check various online stores for their reputation. You can check B&H's ratings, which are quite favorable.

B&H Photo-Video-Pro Audio Customer Ratings, Reviews and Prices at ResellerRatings
__________________
Kevin H. Stecyk
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2008, 11:03 PM
PB&J photography's Avatar
PB&J photography PB&J photography is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Columbia, SC
Posts: 89
PB&J photography 10
Send a message via Yahoo to PB&J photography
Re: Fraud Alert when buying from www.DHGate.com website from jackie_chan!

Yes, B&H is a common fav amongst many photogs. I've spent three life savings there. I have also had great success with newegg, however not much for photo equipment. Computer..yes.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.prophotohome.com/forum/storage-media-readers-photo-recovery/76312-fraud-alert-when-buying-www-dhgate-com-website-jackie_chan.html
Posted By For Type Date
KLFY TV 10 - Acadiana's Local News, Weather and Sports Leader | Search This thread Refback 10-14-2008 07:53 AM
counterfeit products This thread Pingback 04-02-2008 03:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 AM.




ColorRight

Pro Photo Store

Professional Photo Resources Atlanta






Geo Visitors Map

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0