Pro Photo HOME
Go Back   Pro Photo HOME > Professional Digital Camera Discussion - Full Access for Basic Members > Nikon Digital SLR

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2002, 06:39 AM
Basic Member

Raymund_Madronero 10
G Series over D Series Nikon Lenses

I just purchased a Nikon D100 a week ago and initially bought a Nikkor Zoom AF 28-100mm f/3.5-5.6G (partly because the 28-105mm D series was not available). I was just wondering if someone can point out the main difference between the G and D series aside from the absence of the aperture control settings, the lighter weight, the price in the G series. Is the D series necessarily a better lens than the G series? I am not really a pro photographer and would just be using my cam for semi-pro applications. Can anyone help? Thanks.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 11-25-2002, 06:51 AM
Basic Member

Rick_Oz 10
Re: G Series over D Series Nikon Lenses

I purchased the same lens, one main difference is that the lens mount is made of plastic like everything else and one day it got knock slightly and snaped right off.
Will not buy another G series lens.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 11-25-2002, 07:51 AM
Basic Member

PolarBears 10

What is difference G and D?

G has NO aperature ring, light weight so possible carefully as easy break if you accident or so?

D has aperature ring, metal lenses as longer years (never know).

Old 11-25-2002, 05:48 PM
Basic Member

Freddie_Cheung 10