Pro Photo HOME
Go Back   Pro Photo HOME > Professional Digital Workflow Discussion - Full Access for Premium Members > Colour Management

Notices

LinkBack (2) Thread Tools Display Modes
  2 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1  
Old 03-22-2006, 07:22 PM
Basic Member

IraParis 10
What\'s The Correct White Point ? 5000K or 6500K

I'm just getting into profiling my monitors with the Gretag Macbeth / Pantone Eye One Display 2.
I'm running Win XP Pro, and will be calibrating both my laptop and CRT monitor.
What's the correct white point setting? 5000K Warm White or 6500K Medium White?
I can't seem to find a definitive answer, so any and all help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 03-22-2006, 08:34 PM
Premium Lifetime Member

Edmund_Ronald 10
Re: What\'s The Correct White Point ? 5000K or 6500K

[ QUOTE ]
I'm just getting into profiling my monitors with the Gretag Macbeth / Pantone Eye One Display 2.
I'm running Win XP Pro, and will be calibrating both my laptop and CRT monitor.
What's the correct white point setting? 5000K Warm White or 6500K Medium White?
I can't seem to find a definitive answer, so any and all help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

[/ QUOTE ]

The "usual" settings nowadays are a whitepoint of 6500K and a gamma of 2.2. I myself have reverted to a setting of 5000K and a gamma of 1.8, and this is now what I recommend to clients, but then I've always been a contrarian ...

There is no definitive answer - it really depends on your work environment.

Edmund

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 03-22-2006, 08:58 PM
Basic Member

Ed_Foster_Jr 10
Re: What\'s The Correct White Point ? 5000K or 6500K

Ira,