Pro Photo HOME
Go Back   Pro Photo HOME > Professional Digital Camera Discussion - Full Access for Basic Members > Canon EOS Digital SLR with 1.6X sensors

Notices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2003, 07:09 PM
Basic Member

Rebecca_Widner 10
Expsosure & histograms

I've been using my 10D for several months now and have been very happy with it in controled situations. However, with wedding season upon me I've been testing it with more variables (in regard to lighting) and now I'm feeling less confident. I realize the LCD is not accurate for exposure, so I move to the histogram. However, I really don't feel confident with the histogram either. I understand that the histogram is a visual representation of a given exposure, but I don't know how to judge if if the exposure is accurate or not. Obviously the overexposure warning is very helpful but, if I'm photographing a black cat in a coal mine the histogram will obviously look different than if I'm photographing a snow ball. Can anyone give me some pointers on the histogram or is this all by feel? I have looked at several histograms from accurate exposures and I'm failing to see the common thread.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 07-05-2003, 08:08 PM
Basic Member

Michael_Feinberg 10
Re: Expsosure & histograms

A histogram is not that difficult to read, but can take a little practice to interpret the results. The 10D does not break down by color, so what you are seeing is a representation of greyscal values from pure black to pure white (left to right). For RAW images this covers 12 bits (4096 values), for JPGs 8 bits (256 values).