Pro Photo HOME
Go Back   Pro Photo HOME > Professional Digital Camera Discussion - Full Access for Basic Members > Canon 1-series Digital SLR and EOS 5D

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2012, 02:25 PM
KevinCarter KevinCarter is offline
Basic Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,682
KevinCarter 10
How keep Canon utilities from not coming up on SD/ CF card interstions?

Here is the pattern. I insert a CD/ SD card, camera window launches in the dock, why I have no idea.

The camera window disappears and mysterious as it arrived and in the dock instead is, MCU whatever that means.

But on the desktop is Canon image browser. Now this has a preferences but nothing about going away on card insertions.

I've done the Apple Capture window pref, many times.

I'm as baffled with all this as I was when I posted 5 years ago.

Chuck, anyone else? 1 million dollars to the person who can solve this.



__________________
MAC 10.6.4
CS5
imac 27"
CANON 5D2

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:07 PM
ChuckWestfall ChuckWestfall is offline
Premium Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Lake Success, NY USA
Posts: 2,599
ChuckWestfall 10
Re: How keep Canon utilities from not coming up on SD/ CF card interstions?

Kevin:

As I may have mentioned before, if your Apple Image Capture preferences aren't being honored, it's most likely an Apple software issue. However, if you can't get any support from Apple, then by all means contact Canon USA's Customer Support toll free at 1-800-OK-CANON.
__________________
Chuck Westfall
Technical Advisor
Professional Engineering & Solutions Division
ITC Group/Canon U.S.A., Inc.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:08 PM
ChuckWestfall ChuckWestfall is offline
Premium Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Lake Success, NY USA
Posts: 2,599
ChuckWestfall 10
Re: How keep Canon utilities from not coming up on SD/ CF card interstions?

Kevin:

As I may have mentioned before, if your Apple Image Capture preferences aren't being honored, it's most likely an Apple software issue. However, if you can't get any support from Apple, then by all means contact Canon USA's Customer Support toll free at 1-800-OK-CANON.
__________________
Chuck Westfall
Technical Advisor
Professional Engineering & Solutions Division
ITC Group/Canon U.S.A., Inc.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:19 PM
KevinCarter KevinCarter is offline
Basic Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,682
KevinCarter 10
Re: How keep Canon utilities from not coming up on SD/ CF card interstions?

Thanks, Chuck what if I just take the Canon Browser out of my apps folder, will that work? where would I put it so it wont launch, but have it just in case. What is MCU, thanks!
__________________
MAC 10.6.4
CS5
imac 27"
CANON 5D2

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2013, 09:26 AM
ChuckWestfall ChuckWestfall is offline
Premium Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Lake Success, NY USA
Posts: 2,599
ChuckWestfall 10
Re: How keep Canon utilities from not coming up on SD/ CF card interstions?

Kevin: This is a strictly an Apple Image Capture preferences issue, so the location of the Canon app on your system has no bearing on whether the program auto launches.

MCU = Memory Card Utility. This programs works with card readers, as opposed to Camera Window, which requires a camera to be connected to the computer directly via USB.
__________________
Chuck Westfall
Technical Advisor
Professional Engineering & Solutions Division
ITC Group/Canon U.S.A., Inc.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2013, 02:24 PM
KevinCarter KevinCarter is offline
Basic Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,682
KevinCarter 10
Re: How keep Canon utilities from not coming up on SD/ CF card interstions?

thanks Chuck, ah, so it is Apple 100%? Interesting, would never have known it's totally on their end. thanks again. Just changed that preference and it now is ok. Why that preference keeps switching from no application to camera window I have no idea!
__________________
MAC 10.6.4
CS5
imac 27"
CANON 5D2

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Advertise Here! - Contact Us!


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0